The Safely Surrendered Baby Law
Are you pregnant and have decided not to keep your baby after delivery? Did you know that, as the parent, you can drop off your baby at Safe Surrender Sites?
The Safely Surrendered Baby Law allows parents to drop off their baby to any County fire station or hospital emergency room without fear of prosecution.
No Questions Asked, Guaranteed Confidentiality, 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
Why is California doing this?
The purpose of the Safely Surrender Baby Law is to protect babies from being abandoned by their parents and potentially being hurt or killed. You have seen the televised tragic stories of babies left in dumpsters, alleys, public bathrooms and other places. The parents who committed these acts may have been under severe emotional distress. The mothers may have hidden their pregnancy, fearful of what would happen if their families found out. Because they were afraid and had nowhere to turn for help, they abandoned their infants. Abandoning the child is dangerous, illegal and tragically results in the baby’s death. Because of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law, this tragedy doesn’t ever have to happen in California again!
At 8:30 am . on Thursday, July 25, 2002 , a healthy newborn baby was brought to St. Bernardino Medical Center in San Bernardino under the provisions of the California Safely Surrendered Baby Law. As the law states, the baby’s mother did not have to identify herself. When the baby was brought to the emergency room, he was examined by a pediatrician, who determined that the baby was healthy and doing fine. He was placed with a loving family while the adoption process was started. Every baby deserves a chance for a healthy life. If someone you know is considering abandoning a newborn, let her know there are other options. What happens to the baby? The baby will be examined by firefighters (or hospital staff) and given medical treatment, if needed. Then the baby will be placed in a pre-adoptive home. It is best that women seek help to receive proper medical care and counseling while they are pregnant. If you know anyone who is pregnant and considering abandonment, please let them know that they can safely surrender their babies into the safe hands of any Los Angeles County firefighter or hospital medical professional.
Read the FAQ and if you need more info visit
Q. What is the Safely Surrendered Baby Law?
Q. How does it work?
Q. What if a parent wants the baby back?
Q. Can only a parent bring in the baby?
Q. Does the parent have to call before bringing in the baby?
Q. Does a parent have to tell anything to the people taking the baby?
Q. What happens to the parent?
Q. Why is California doing this?
More information can be downloaded below!