FOURTH OF JULY FIREWORKS FAQs

1. Are "Safe and Sane" fireworks allowed in your jurisdiction?

Cities permitting the sale and use of "Safe and Sane" fireworks include the following:

Alhambra	Cudahy
Artesia	Downey
Azusa	El Monte
Baldwin Park	Hawaiian Gardens
Bell	Hawthorne
Bellflower	Huntington Park
Bell Gardens	Industry
Commerce	Irwindale
Compton	La Mirada

La Puente Lakewood Lawndale Lynwood Maywood Monterey Park Norwalk Palmdale Paramount Pico Rivera Rosemead South El Monte Santa Fe Springs South Gate Temple City Vernon

In the cities and all unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County that do not permit "Safe and Sane" fireworks, all fireworks are considered illegal fireworks and they can be confiscated by fire and law enforcement agencies.

2. What are the dates and hours of sales?

The State Fire Marshal allows the sale of "Safe and Sane" fireworks from noon on June 27th through noon on July 6th. Each city has the ability to alter the dates and time that they will allow the sale of "Safe and Sane" fireworks. Please visit your city website to find out what the requirements are for your city.

3. What are the dates and hours of use?

The dates and times are established by each city, in accordance with the State Fire Marshal. You will need to visit the website of the city that you live in to determine what the rules are for your city.

4. Are there restrictions on locations of discharge? Where?

"Safe and Sane" fireworks are prohibited in all unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County. "Safe and Sane" fireworks are only allowed for use within the city limits of the cities listed in question number one (see above).

5. What is the minimum age of purchase?

The minimum age of purchase is 16.

6. Is proof of age required?

Yes, proof of age is required.

7. Does your jurisdiction host a fireworks display on July 4th?

Beginning Friday, June 27, 2025, residents can contact the FIREWORKS HOTLINE at (888) 654-FIRE (3473) or visit the Department's website at <u>fire.lacounty.gov</u> for dates, times, and locations of fireworks shows taking place within Los Angeles County.